Wait, Roll That Again! Coming 15 June 2023

A brand-new Podcast about building a TTRPG from the ground up, lead by me, a total beginner

Making a whole system is hard work. That’s probably obvious to most game designers, but to someone like me—well, I didn’t know what I was getting myself into.

Because over the last few months, I’ve been working on a system of my own.

My name’s Alex, I’m a podcaster by trade and a table-top gamer in my spare time. I started playing tabletop games at 15, and I’ve been tinkering with mechanics ever since then. I relished homebrewing monsters in my after-school dungeons and dragons game, and even made a subclass for one of my friends to play.

While homebrew and tinkering are definitely game design in my books, I wanted to try something from the ground-up. I wanted to work on a simple game and understand the process of designing something for tables to enjoy beyond my own. But I didn’t want to do this alone. We’re in such an exciting time for TTRPG design, and if my first steps into this world could encourage anyone to do the same, that was worth it.

Introducing: Wait, Roll That Again! A TTRPG Design Podcast

Wait, Roll That Again! follows my journey to create my first tabletop game, from the idea stage, through playtesting, all the way to publication. But this journey is not made alone. I’m joined by creators from all over the world, sharing their wisdom to help guide my process and inspire others to do the same. Episodes will be released right here on Substack, and distributed to your favourite podcast platforms like Spotify, Apple Podcasts, and PocketCasts.

The show runs on a fortnightly schedule at the moment, and in the in-between weeks, you’ll get a progress article right here to keep you in the loop. So to follow all the TTRPG design goodness, subscribe to this newsletter! It’s free and you’ll be notified whenever we’ve got something to share.

More to come soon…