Playtest Materials and Updated Schedule

What's coming up next for Wait, Roll That Again! Character design, more playtests, and a whole lot more podcasting.

Kia ora and Hello!

We’re nearly halfway through the first season of Wait, Roll That Again! It’s been such a blast to start this journey, and hearing that people are enjoying the show is such a treat. I’m really excited for you to listen to the rest of the show, I think it’s going to be a really rewarding season of podcasting!

Playtest

On the latest episode of Wait, Roll That Again, I ran my first ever playtest! It was really scary but I enjoyed it thoroughly. It’s a kind of vulnerability that I’d never felt before running a TTRPG session. It’s like putting your beliefs right on the page, asking your playtesters to engage with your work in a more critical fashion than on a regular game night.

In lieu of a design update last week, I thought I’d share the playtest materials here! If you’re interested, you can check out the first ever pieces of design for this game!

If you haven’t had the chance to listen to this past week’s episode, here’s the link. It was awesome taking Michael’s advice and being able to put in into action right there and then, and the game will be more exciting for it.

Schedule

I just wanted to pop in and share a scheduling update for the show. So here’s what the next few weeks looks like:

  • July 27th: Design Update #3

  • August 3rd: Episode 3 - Character Creation

  • August 10th: Design Update #4

  • August 17th: Episode 4 - Characters and Abilities

You might notice that the show’s regular update schedule has been pushed back by a week. I’ve had an unprecedentedly hectic time at my workplaces over the last week and a bit, and I want to make sure I’ve got enough time to ensure these episodes are perfect!

I’m also taking the extra time to catch up on some game design. I’ve learned a lot over the last few weeks about my design assumptions, which I’ll be sharing more about on Thursday.

I look forward to seeing you then!