Out October 26th - The Playtest!

Its all been leading to this. The Playtest episode of Wait Roll That Again introduces my game, FRIGHT OR FIGHT, to the world! And, as a bonus, you'll get to play it too!

On October 26th, the full playtest of the spooky game project I’ve been developing across the Wait, Roll That Again! podcast, which I am calling Fright or Fight! 

I’ll be bringing the players from my home game into the studio to make characters, and take their first steps into this strange trick-or-treating world.

If you’re new here, Fright or Fight is a tabletop roleplaying game aimed at creating one-shots or short campaigns about a group of kids out for trick-or-treating who suddenly find themselves given the powers of their costume! But they’ve got to face down awakened decorations if they want to save their town, and maybe score some candy along the way!

I’ve loved working on this game over the last few months, and cataloguing the design process on the podcast and here on the Substack. You don’t need to have read or listened to everything for this episode though!

Want to run the game?

I’m going to be releasing the playtest documents along side the final episode of the season, where the players and I will talk about the experience, and I’ll summarise the whole experience of designing my first game! You’ll have a chance to run the game for yourself and see what we’ve been working on. Because you’ve come along this journey with me, and I think seeing the game after the season of podcasting will be helpful for those of you who want to start their own game design journeys.

If you’re in Wellington/Te Whanganui-a-Tara in Aotearoa, there’s a playtesting event happening at Caffeinated Dragon at 14:00, and I’ll be running Fright or Fight for a table! You can come down and try the game with me, make your own characters, and have some real input on where this game is going!

The Schedule

  • October 26th: Episode Seven: The Playtest

  • November 2nd The Final Design Update

  • November 9th: Episode Eight: The End, and the Playtest version of the game is released!

Of course, November 9th wont be the end of Wait, Roll That Again! Keep an eye out for more information in the future, I’m really excited for this project’s future!

I can’t wait to share the playtest episode and materials with you all, and I hope you’re all having a great time in the TTRPG space.

See you next week!