EPISODE THREE - Many-Faced Math Rocks (Feat. Michael Sands)

It's time to put pen to paper and get some game ideas out there! I chat to Michael Sands, designer of Monster of The Week, about mechanics and dice in TTRPGS. I also run my first ever playtest!

Welcome back to Wait, Roll That Again!

On this week’s episode, I take the tips from the last few weeks and apply them to my first pieces of design for my TTRPG project.

There’s one key conversation I felt like I needed to have before I sat down to design some mechanics. I wanted to learn about resolution and dice, so I spoke to Aotearoa-based designer Michael Sands (Monster Of The Week, Three Dooms) about what makes dice mechanics work. Here’s a clip from that discussion!

Following that conversation, I got right to the drawing board and put some words to paper. I came up with a basic idea of the system, and I ran it for two of my players. To find out how it went, you’re going to have to listen on…

You can also find the episode here on, Apple Podcasts, PocketCasts, or wherever you get your podcasts today. Subscribe to the show in your favourite app!

Thanks for listening, and thank you again to Mike Sands for coming on the show! If you’d like to support the show, please share it with a friend!